Yesterday’s General Election is a good reminder of the importance of voting — a key role we all play in determining our community’s leaders and shaping local programs and services. 

The current political climate has resulted in an upswing in voter registration locally; the Snohomish County Elections office reported nearly 25,000 new voter registrations in the county this year. Wherever your beliefs fall on the political spectrum, that’s a good thing. If you aren’t registered to vote or want to verify your registration, visit Students can register at age 17-1/2 to begin voting at age 18. 

The City of Marysville, Marysville School District and Tulalip Tribes are all governed by elected leaders: 

City of Marysville

Jon Nehring, Mayor 

1: Jeff Vaughan

2: Mark James

3: Tom King

4: Michael Stevens

5: Rob Toyer

6: Stephen Muller

7: Kamille Norton (Council President)

Marysville has a full-time Mayor elected independently from the City Council, the legislative branch and policy-making body. All are elected at large to serve four-year terms. The Mayor and Council work closely together with input from the public to identify and pursue community goals and priorities. Regular Council meetings are open to the public and take place at 7 p.m. the second and fourth Mondays of each month at Marysville City Hall, 1049 State Ave. 

Marysville School District

1: Chris Nation

2: Mariana Maksimos

3: Pete Lundberg

4: Vanessa Edwards

5: Dr. Tom Albright

The Marysville School District Board of Directors is comprised of community members in five separate “director district” areas within the school district’s boundaries. Board members are elected by their constituents to serve a four-year term. Although each director area represents neighborhoods within the school district boundaries, when it comes to elections they are placed on the ballot community-wide for the vote. More information:

Tulalip Tribes

Marie Zackuse, Chairwoman

Teri Gobin, Vice Chairwoman

Melvin Sheldon Jr., Treasurer

Bonnie Juneau, Secretary 

Les Parks

Marlin Fryberg

Jared Parks

The reservation is governed by a seven-member Tribal Council Board of Directors chosen by Tribal members for three-year terms of service - a modern version of the separate Tribal Councils that governed our Tribes and allied bands for thousands of years here in Puget Sound.

This monthly column is jointly prepared by the City of Marysville, Marysville School District and Tulalip Tribes about topics of interest to the Marysville Tulalip community. 


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.