Paul Migrala turns in his ballot at the Arlington ballot drop box on Nov. 5.


City council and mayoral races in Arlington and Marysville were decided in this year’s Nov. 5 General Election, as well as county races and state initiatives.

All results are from the most recent ballot count released by Snohomish County as of press time.


Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring will retain his seat with 76.94 percent of voters supporting him.

Nehring was initially appointed to Marysville’s mayoral seat in 2010 and has now been elected three times.

“I was really happy and humbled to have the confidence of the voters. I was especially humbled by the margin,” said Nehring.

“I’m really appreciative of the citizens and I am looking forward to another term,” he said.

For the next four years he hopes to “continue the work dealing with the drug and homelessness epidemic” by offering help to those in need to address the root of the problem.

“But if you don’t accept help we will deal with them firmly and legally,” said Nehring.

He also hopes to provide more access to housing and treatment facilities.

There are a number of transportation improvement projects Nehring hopes to continue, including the First Street bypass, the interchange at SR-529 and I-5 and the widening of State Avenue after 100th Street.

“We will also continue ensuring we retain our small town feel,” said Nehring. “We want to create a cultural core in the downtown.”

In the City Council races, Rob Toyer’s empty seat is looking to be filled by Kelly Richards, who currently has 51.69 percent of the vote against Jeff Seibert.

Stephen Muller has likely retained his seat with 68.42 percent of the voter against Katherine Iverson.

Incumbent Kamille Norton returns for another term and ran unopposed.

Marysville School District

The Marysville School District board of directors had three seats up for grabs.

Paul Galovin looks to overtake incumbent Mariana Maksimos with 53.35 percent of voters.

Incumbent Tom Albright will likely keep his seat with 63.72 percent approval against challenger Halleh Stickels.

Incumbent Pete Lundberg ran unopposed for his seat.


In a tight mayoral race incumbent Barbara Tolbert leads with a 78 vote margin and 50.93 percent of voters.

For the Arlington City Council, Michele Blythe looks to have the lead on incumbent Sue Weiss as Blythe has 55.95 percent approval.

Incumbents Marilyn Oertle and Mike Hopson had no opponents and will return for another term.

The City Council’s fireworks advisory vote currently has 51.73 percent in favor of banning fireworks in the city.

The City Council approved the advisory vote to get a better understand about what city residents wanted.

“They wanted to get a sense of what the community wanted in terms of fireworks,” said Kristin Banfield, the city’s communication manager. “The next steps will be for the City Council to review these results and decided what they want to do."

The date to review the numbers and plan the next steps hasn’t been scheduled yet, but Banfield expects it to be sometime in the next couple of months. 

Per state law, changes in fireworks law cannot take effect until a year after the law is passed.

“So any changes that are enacted this year or even into January or February won’t take affect until after the 2020 Fourth of July,” said Banfield.

Arlington School District

The Arlington School District had three of its five seats up for election.

Incumbent Jim Weiss will likely hold on to his seat with 51.27 percent of the vote against Sheri Kelly.

New board members Michael Ray and Mary Levesque ran unopposed and will start their first terms soon.

State Initiatives

Initiative 976 will limit car tab fees to $30 and looks to have passed with 53.32 percent of voters in favor of the measure.

The reduction in car tab funds will likely cause a budget shortfall for state-funded transportation projects and public transit which will have to be reconciled.

There are some city funds that are unaffected.

“When we adopted a Transportation Benefit District to ask for 0.1 percent sales tax we went to the voters,” said Arlington’s communication manager Kristin Banfield.

Those collections are not affected by the initiative.

Marysville has a similar Transportation Benefit District sales tax (of 0.2 percent) that is also safe from changes.

“Obviously there will be a significant impact to the state budget,” said Banfield.

“They provide a lot of grant funds which create transportation projects here,” she said.

State funds often provide a significant amount money to help fund construction projects to local cities.

“Looking at the bigger picture, Marysville partners with and relies on the state for many larger projects, such as the I-5/SR-529 interchange scheduled to break ground next year,” wrote Marysville’s communication administrator Connie Mennie in a statement in conjunction with the city’s finance director Sandy Langdon and public works director Kevin Nielsen.

“We have heard from WSDOT [the Washington State Department of Transportation] that they are starting to review the potential impacts of I-976 passage,” they wrote. “It is too early to know which programs or projects in our area may be affected. Ultimately, it is up to the Governor and State Legislature how to address this state funding challenge.”

North County Regional Fire Authority

The North County Regional Fire Authority put a fire levy proposition on the ballot that would increase the property tax rate to $1.50 per $1,000 of assessed value.

With 2,672 votes for and 2,673 votes against, the measure is currently failing by the thinnest of margins.

Normally, because of state law, fire districts can only raise their tax collections 1 percent per year, which typically does not keep up with inflation.

This causes the tax rate to drop slowly and districts must go back to the voters every couple of years to restore their rates, which this levy was meant to do.

Incumbent Greg Oakes looks to have retained his seat with 67.41 percent of the vote against Jeff Sinker.

Lakewood School District

There are three seats up for the Lakewood School District board of directors.

Steven Larson looks to overtake incumbent Jeremy Toponce with 63.86 percent of the vote.

Incumbents Leaha Boser and Lawrence Bean ran unopposed and will return for another term.

Snohomish County

County Council District 2 covers much of Tulalip, north Everett and Mukilteo. Democrat Megan Dunn appears to have secured the seat with 56.29 percent of the vote against Republican Anna Rohrbough.

In the county sheriff race Adam Fortney received 55.61 percent of the vote against incumbent Ty Trenary.

In the treasurer race Brian Sullivan has a margin of 32 votes over Rob Toyer for the seat.

For a complete listing of results, go to http://bit.ly/2Q0wUlQ.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.