North County Outlook - Community newspaper serving Marysville, Arlington, Tulalip, Smokey Point, Lakewood

Quil Ceda Village - Favorite Neighborhood Stores

Preliminary results in for General Election


November 15, 2017 | View PDF

Changes are coming to both the Marysville City Council and Arlington City Council as multiple incumbents were defeated in the Nov. 7 General Election.

Preliminary ballot results were posted on Nov. 7 with updates throughout the week.

Marysville City Council

The Marysville City Council will have two new faces next year.

For City Council Pos. 1, incumbent Jeff Vaughan won re-election with 65.81 percent of the vote against Robert “Bob” Weiss.

For City Council Pos. 2, Mark James won his election against incumbent Donna Wright with 59.33 percent of the vote as of Nov. 11.

Wright has served on the council since 2002 and before that served on the council from 1992 to 1999.

James said his initial thoughts were those of being “humbled” and “honored.”

It was a long campaign for the candidate as James also had to go through a primary election.

“It’s been a long road and a tough six months, and I’m happy to start taking down all my signs and cleaning up Marysville, as I’m sure many are,” he said.

He looks forward to serving on the council.

“I’m excited about this new journey and the opportunity I have to serve the citizens in the next four years,” he said.

For City Council Pos. 3, Tom King won his election against incumbent Jeff Seibert with 56.49 percent of the vote as of Nov. 11.

Seibert has been on the Marysville City Council since 2002.

“I was thrilled and honored,” said King. “I appreciate all the support.”

A city council seat was “always in the back of my mind,” said King. “This is something I’ve wanted to do for a while now, and now that I’m retired I have the time and the energy."

He hopes to look at a lot of aspects of Marysville while serving on the council.

“We have a lot of issues we need to address,” he said, adding he hopes to address issues such as transportation problems, the amount of homelessness in the city and the Ebey Waterfront Park.

For City Council Pos. 4, incumbent Michael Stevens defeated Elijah Olson with 84.62 percent of the vote as of Nov. 11.

The amount of change coming for the council surprised Stevens.

“This is the first time I’ve been on the council where an incumbent hasn’t been successful in re-election,” he said.

“There is value in having new ideas represented and there’s value in having those incumbents too,” he said.

Stevens said there are several projects he’d like to see through.

“I’ve learned that things take time in local government, so I’m glad to have another four years,” he said.

Those projects include the Ebey Waterfront Park, roads being funded with the state’s transportation package, plans for the north end of the city and “coming up with a solution for the RFA [Regional Fire Authority] that makes sense.”

Stevens said increasing call volumes for the local fire district have put increasing pressure on public safety workers and a sustainable model needs to be found.

Arlington City Council

For City Council Pos. 1, incumbent Jesica Stickles won re-election with 54.65 percent of the vote as of Nov. 11.

Stickles said it was good to celebrate the night of the election.

“Because of the way my last election went, where the numbers were very close, we were glad to celebrate earlier this time,” she said.

She wanted to thank the people who cast their ballot.

“It was a low turnout so I am super appreciative of those that took the time to go out and vote,” she said.

Public safety is one of her main priorities for her next term she said.

“I’m already jumping in and I want to improve our police department.” Stickles hopes to be involved with a police task force that takes a deep dive into the crime statistics of the city “so we can look into where and how we need to improve.”

For City Council Pos. 2, Joshua Roundy defeated incumbent Chris Raezer with 71.45 percent of the vote as of Nov. 11.

Roundy said he was excited about the results and the amount of support he received from the voters.

“I thought going against an incumbent it would be a little closer,” he said.

He is looking forward to starting work on the council.

“I’m excited to get in there, get caught up on the council agenda and get to work,” he said.

Roundy has served as a state auditor and as an accountant in Lake Stevens, so he said he already knows a lot about city budgeting.

“I’ve been in city government before so I think I can get the hang of it pretty fast,” he said.

Incumbents Debora Nelson (Council Pos. 3) and Jan Schuette (Council Pos. 7) were running unopposed for their seats so each will serve another term with the council.

County Council

The Snohomish County Council District 1 seat was won by Nate Nehring with 60.08 percent of the vote as of Nov. 11.

Nehring was appointed earlier this year to the position when former council member Ken Klein took a position in the Snohomish County’s executive office.

Marysville School Board

The Marysville School Board had two races on this year’s ballot.

Incumbent Chris Nation defeated Ray Sheldon Jr. with 61.83 percent of the vote for the District 1 seat as of Nov. 11.

The District 1 seat covers parts of downtown Marysville and all of Tulalip.

Vanessa Edwards leads incumbent Bruce Larson with 51.89 percent for the District 4 seat as of Nov. 11.

District 4 includes the Getchell area and parts of eastern Marysville.

Arlington School Board

At the Arlington School District there are two races for their board of directors.

Judy Fay defeated incumbent Ursula Ghirardo with 58.85 percent of the vote for the District 3 seat as of Nov. 11.

District 3 includes most of the Silvana and Bryant areas.

For District 5, which covers the Sisco Heights region and areas north of it, incumbent Bob McClure did not run for re-election.

Marc Rosson won the election against Lyanne Rolf with 60.05 percent of the vote as of Nov. 11.

Lakewood School Board

Incumbents Oscar Escalante, Sandy Gotts and Jahna Smith ran for school board seats unopposed and have been elected for a new term.

For complete election results go to


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017