North County Outlook - Community newspaper serving Marysville, Arlington, Tulalip, Smokey Point, Lakewood

Cities set times for use of fireworks


Citizens will be able to purchase and discharge fireworks this year at specific times in Marysville or Arlington.

The Marysville City Council approved a ban of fireworks this January, however because of state law that prohibition cannot take effect until next year.

Discharge of fireworks within the Marysville city limits is allowed only on July 4 from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

In Arlington, discharge of fireworks within the city is allowed on July 4 from 9 a.m. to midnight.

The sale of fireworks is allowed in Marysville on June 28 from noon to 11 p.m., and from June 29 to July 4 from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

In Arlington, the sales of fireworks is allowed from 9 a.m. on June 28 to 9 p.m. on July 4.

Only “safe and sane” fireworks are allowed in both of the cities. Descriptions of what constitutes legal fireworks is available at the Washington State Patrol website at

It is always illegal to discharge fireworks of any kind at City of Marysville parks.

The city of Marysville Police Department plans to have extra patrols throughout the city during the Fourth of July and plans to ticket citizens found in violation of the law.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018